pregornot


Sleeping
January 07, 2004 - 9:02 a.m.

Marlee has been a crabby bear all week. I called Sheila on Monday to see how she was doing because whenever she has a cold she can't sleep, doesn't eat much and is really cranky. Well apparently while she was at daycare she was fine. This was NOT the case when I got her home. I think (well, I know) that we're dealing with a little bit of bottle preference...whenever I get her home from daycare, she is usually hungry and hasn't eaten in a few hours, yet she refuses to nurse. She has problems latching on, and once she does, she sucks once and since milk doesn't come out immediately, she starts screaming. It takes forever to get her calmed down. The only way I can get her to eat is to stick a pacifier in her mouth, bounce her around until she is almost asleep and then do a quick exchange with the pacifier. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesnt. Monday I couldn't get her to eat at all no matter what I did. I was concerned with her getting dehydrated with her being sick, so I gave her a sippy cup with water in it. It was funny to watch her face, she's never had water before. She didn't have more than half an oz, but it pacified her enough that she would nurse then.

The past couple of days I have been letting her nap around 7pm. I used to keep her up from 6pm to 9pm so that she would sleep through the night, but since she stopped sleeping through the night and she gets crabby tired around 7, I let her nap for about an hour. I've also been putting her in her crib and letting her cry just a little...I've always let her fall asleep on her own, but usually I was rubbing her head or holding her hands or something, now I just leave her in there and hope it works. For the most part it does, and it benefits I believe. She woke up at 3:30am on Tuesday and didn't want to go back to bed. I finally gave up at 4:30 and went back to bed, since I have to get up at 5 to shower. I expected her to scream and end up in bed with us, but when I woke up at 5, she was sleeping.

I tried to do this for naptme yesterday. She had been up since 1pm, and I picked her up at 4pm. She was angry and aggitated, didn't want to be rocked or held or fed or anything..I think she was majorly overstimulated...the kids at her daycare love to play with her and she sits in an infant walker right in the middle of the chaos. I laid her in her crib, turned on the Aquarium and stood there, prepared to talk her down a little. She started yelling angrily, punched the aquarium off, wriggled everywhere. I thought that meant she wanted out, so I lifted her up and she started crying even harder. So I laid her back down and went downstairs. She cried for exactly 30 seconds after I left, then happily talked to her hands for 10 minutes. She didn't nap, but she wound down and was a little more pleasant to deal with.

Last night she slept through the night for the first time in a long time. (She did for my mom last week, and for Tim's mom the week before, but not for me!) She napped from 7pm to 8pm, so I kept her up till 10, then did the bedtime routine. She went to bed easily, only cried for a minute, and was out until 6am this morning. BLISS. I know, I contradict myself.


Wash Your Hands!
January 07, 2004 - 8:33 a.m.

I meant to post this Monday

Going to work sure was hard today. Not only because I got 2 hours of sleep and I woke up with a bleeding sore throat, but mostly because I have spent so much time with Marlee in the last two weeks, and now I have to be away from her more often than I will be with her. After I went to bed, I found myself wishing she would wake up just so I could see her again. Wishes must be pretty powerful, because about a half hour later she woke up, rustled around a bit, turned on the Aquarium, talked to herself a bit, turned off the aquarium and started crying. I went in and snuggled with her. It didn't seem like she was hungry, but I let her nurse anyway. It's the first time I've known her to comfort nurse...but thinking back, there have been plenty of times when I've gotten up with her at night and the next morning her diaper is dry (I never change her at night). So I am sure it's not the first time. And I know we're creating a bad habit but I totally don't mind, if it's only once a night. Sometimes she's up for 5 minutes, then goes right back to sleep. It's never been more than 10 minutes, and I don't have a problem going back to sleep.

UGH!!! I am SO pissed. My mom watched Marlee for us on New Year's Eve...Before I left I gave my mom some hand sanitizer and asked her to wash her hands constantly because I don't want Marlee getting sick. Well when I went to pick her up my mom was giving her raspberries ON HER MOUTH and kissing her on the mouth. I don't even do that and she's my kid!!! Well anyway, Marlee was unbearably cranky the last couple of nights - I thought it was teething and gave her tylenol and baby oragel...Well my mom just called, turns out she is horridly sick, with a sore throat and sinus pressure and achy and all that fun stuff...No doubt that's what Marlee has right now. No wonder my poor baby is so miserable.

It just pisses me off that she doesn't have enough common sense to take a little care so Marlee doesn't get sick. I mean, my husband had the flu that is going around, and we were so careful that neither Marlee or I got it, and we LIVE WITH HIM....

I called daycare and she seems to be doing just fine. According to mom, the first two days is a sore throat, then the sinus pressure starts in and the headaches and body aches. Just watch this turn into an ear infection for Marlee....


Sleeping In
January 03, 2004 - 1:15 p.m.

Marlee woke us up at 6am this morning with her "singing". I walked into her room, the Aquarium was on and she was just gabbing away. It didn't appear that she was hungry, but as soon as she saw me standing there she started crying. She went back to sleep until 9:30, then stayed in bed with us until 10:45! That's two days in a row. Thank goodness we don't have a morning baby like Kaitlyn... last time we stayed at BIL's she was up and going full bore at 6am.

Not sure what we're going to do today...I'd like to put Mar in the stroller and go for a walk but we'll see.


Yea, She's That Cute.
January 02, 2004 - 3:42 p.m.


Guess Who's A Big Girl?
January 01, 2004 - 11:40 p.m.

Marlee's been a busy girl this past week! She's been changing drastically over the last 5 days or so. Last week, she was good at laying on the floor looking at some toys, playing with her hands and cooing. She even rolled over from her tummy to back occasionally. Then, over Christmas, a new little baby personality emerged...she started picking up toys and holding them for long periods of time, throwing toys, taking her pacifier out of her mouth and putting it back in on her own (sideways, but oh well). She's starting to get frustrated that she isn't more mobile...

And she started yelling at everything, everyone. It starts with a little talking, then she works up to squealing, and soon it is out and out screaming. No tears, just using her voice to it's fullest capacity. It's HILARIOUS.

She can turn her aquarium on and off. One night, around 2am, I heard music playing over the monitor. I rolled over and asked Tim if he heard it too. We both recognized it as the aquarium, and thought she had accidentally hit it in her sleep or something. But she turned it on again a few hours later, and now whenever she's awake in her crib she plays with the buttons and turns it on and off.

Breastfeeding is going so-so. Sometimes, like this past week, it's awesome. But then, nights like tonight make me want to quit! I spend ONE night away from Marlee and my supply completely disappeared. It's so touchy! I pumped the entire night to make sure this wouldn't happen, but it did anyway.

Last night was New Year's Eve, we left Marlee with my mom at her house overnight. She slept through the night (Something she hasn't done since I went back to work except for the night that Tim's mom stayed here to watch her while we went out) so my mom had a real easy time of it.

Lately, Marlee's been afraid of water. She used to love bathtime and now she screams whenever you put her in the water. We've been trying to get her to like it again but it's like starting over each night. I don't know what happened, one night we decided she was too big for her baby tub, so we used the inflatable ducky tub. She was kicking around and her head went under the water for a millisecond (it's happened before, no big deal) but Tim grabbed her out of the tub right away and kinda acted freaked out by it. Since then she's hated the bath! Since babies can only remember about 5 seconds at a time, I don't know how she associated this with a bad experience.

ANyway we are working on it, as well as working on weaning her from a pacifier (impossible) and trying desperatly to get her to sleep through the night again. I might resort to feeding her bottles before bed, if that's what it takes.

<< Last Week - Next Week >>

This design adheres to xhtml 1.0 webstandards

Miss Any?
I'm PREGGERS!!! - July 17, 2006
Oh yea.... - May 11, 2006
Hey!! Guess what, we're still alive. - May 11, 2006
15 month appointment - January 19, 2005
15 months vocab - December 28, 2004

Some Advice?

Lilypie Baby Days