pregornot


Cute cute Cute!
June 16, 2004 - 11:45 a.m.


Almost 9 months!
June 16, 2004 - 11:41 a.m.

Now that Marlee is so mobile, I'm having to get used to entering a room that I know she's in, and still not knowing where she is. Those few seconds of panic, blood pumping adrenaline hot to my skin - Oh, there she is, under the table. She's no longer as interested in toys as she is getting across the room to the VCR to stick her little finger in the slot. She's getting quite a temper....several times this weekend she had a fit over the littlest things - like when I took away a handful of grass that was aimed for her mouth and even when I interrupted her cruising around to change a very messy diaper. She's so headstrong - and I love it. She's been very cuddly in the past - but the more mobile she gets, the less she seems content to lay in my arms or lie next to me on the couch. But she's definitely a mama's girl. She even started saying Mama this weekend! I'm not so sure she knows what she means, but after a month of saying Dada and even progressing to Daddeeee....well it's about time I got some recognition!

So she's crawling and pulling up on everything, and standing for a few seconds on her own, and walking with assistance, and cruising the furniture. It's lovely to have such an independent little one.

She's not so good with the sippy cups - she can drink out of them but refuses to hold them, and if she holds them she won't tip it up rendering it useless. So it's still bottles for now.

She's on to diced fruits, and cheeses, which makes dinner such a mess, but more fun for both of us. I am still making the majority of her food, which has only gotten easier now that she can tolerate a larger variety of foods. We're still nursing. She seems to have taken quite an interest in it as of lately - like it took her 8 months to get it. Now instead of fighting me for a bottle she will come up and pull on my shirt or throw herself in my lap as if to say, Hey! I am hungry, mom!

She's been sleeping better, with the aid of a sleep consultant. We found that we've been doing EVERYTHING right, but that she still needs to get up in the night to eat. Because of her reflux, she can't eat too much during the day or it will come back up, so her body tells her to eat smaller amounts more often. This will probably regulate itself sometime in the next month or so. She's been doing so much better though - waking once at 3am and sleeping until 6am. Its not quite 12 hours, which we'd like to get her to, but since she is such an EXCELLENT napper it really does her no harm. As of now we are trying to move her bedtime up from 7pm to 6:45 and eventually 6:30pm.

She's a hefty child who will be 9 months old on Friday. Every time I look at her in pictures or sleeping in her crib, I think, "those can't be my baby's feet - they are so BIG!" Her legs and feet and toes have fully converted into "little kid" appendages and are no longer "baby". She's in the beginning stages of toddlerhood even though she's still an infant!

She's a real good little boat rider too, we took her boating two weekends ago, she slept most of the time and sat contentedly without scrambling around the boat and causing a ruckus.

I'll have to get some new pictures of her up - she's just the cutest.

I think that's it for now...until 9 months! (Eeek, I must start planning her birthday party!)


So Much New...
May 13, 2004 - 10:05 a.m.

Well today Marlee is 34 weeks old and a week away from being 8 months old. It's incredible how time just flies.

Today she is home with her daddy, and can you believe I am more nervous about something happening to her today that I am when she is at daycare? I guess it's just because it's the first time they've been alone for 10 hours together!

Last night we took Marlee to dinner with 6 of our single or childless friends. Let's just say she was a poster child for having children at a young age! She flirted and won everyone over, and never cried, not even one time. She got passed around quite a bit and enjoyed climbing up on everyone like a monkey.

She also cut a tooth, finally! I felt her little gums last night when we got home and there was a SHARP little jag sticking out on the left side. Her gums are so bumpy and discolored that I'm pretty sure the next four will follow shortly. She's also starting to walk on her own - holding her hands of course. But she takes her own steps and proppells herself. It's amazing.

She slept through the night again! Sorta. We put her down at 9pm and she creied and cried until 10pm...I finally went in and put some Oragel on her gums (that's how I found the tooth) and she fell asleep until 1:30. Then she woke up crying, but I just replaced the pacifier and she fell asleep again. She woke up a few times after that and cried for short periods, but always fell back asleep. I found her laying face down again at 4:30 when she finally woke up to eat.

Then this morning I took her to bed with me for a 20 minute snuggle before I had to get up for work, and she was still sleeping soundly next to her daddy when I left.

I have tomorrow off, so I get to spend the day with her - and I might take her to the zoo if it is nice.

<< Last Week - Next Week >>

This design adheres to xhtml 1.0 webstandards

Miss Any?
I'm PREGGERS!!! - July 17, 2006
Oh yea.... - May 11, 2006
Hey!! Guess what, we're still alive. - May 11, 2006
15 month appointment - January 19, 2005
15 months vocab - December 28, 2004

Some Advice?

Lilypie Baby Days