pregornot


9 months checkup!
July 08, 2004 - 12:25 p.m.

So Marlee had her 9 month check up on Tuesday. It was boring, in the sense that the doctor, and old-fashioned fellow, looked at her and said, "She looks perfect, keep up the good work, and don't change a thing."

Such a change from the past, right?

She weighed in the 75% percentile at 19 lbs something ounces. 75% percentile height at 24".

She was squirmy at the appointment, she kept wanting to get off my lap and "walk" around. She loves to walk around with me holding her hands up above her head. She likes to show off.

The only part she didn't like is when he tried to look in her ears. She actually screamed at him and pushed him away. Then he gave her his stehoscope, and she was happy. So he got to peak in her ears.

The only thing that he asked that concerned me was if she was drinking from a cup. We have to get rid of the bottle by 1 year. So I guess I have to make more of an effort to get her to drink from a sippy. I've tried. I mainly put water in it. She's such a boob girl now, that whenever I am with her, that's what she gets. She only gets two bottles a day, at daycare, and maybe one or two on the weekend when she's too fussy and tired (or I am too fussy or tired) to nurse. The best advice I read was to not ALWAYS serve water in a sippy and milk in a bottle. We've given her water in a bottle - which just aggravates her, but not milk in a sippy. So next week I will send one bottle and one sippy to daycare and see how she does with that.

I looked in her mouth last night (a rare occurance, uinless I want to get bit) and I saw that three teeth are coming through. Two on top and one on the bottom. She was extra cranky yesterday when I picked her up from daycare and she just wanted to suck suck suck, so I think that's what's going on. She felt a little feverish but didn't have an actual fever though, so I gave her some Tylenol anyway.

We started swimming lessons on Monday. Marlee LOVES swimming. The class is called Parent-Tot and it's introducing them to the water and basic swimming concepts for kids 6 months to 3 years. First we sing songs, and practice kicking and paddling and blowing bubbles. So far there has been no submerging. It's so great to see how excited she is. She loves the water. And she seems so advanced. She already kicks and moves her legs when we do our floats....I swear if I let her go she could swim underwater. Maybe I need to get her a snorkel. We go two times a week for the next 4 weeks. It's right before her bedtime thiough, so by the end of class she is having a hard time staying awake, but she's so good. She doesn't complain, even when we get out and lotion her all up and change her and strap her cold little body in the car seat.

She took her first steps on the 4th - and I missed it. She walked from TIm to me, a span of about two feet, while I was looking in the opposite direction. I don't think she realized what she was doing, I think she thought Tim was holding on to her. She can also climb the stairs.We have a tri-level, two sets of stair cases. We gated the stairs going down because she never was able to get UP the stairs before and we didn't want her falling down. I found out she could when I left her in the living room while I went upstairs to the bathroom. All of a sudden I hear her voice a little closer than I assumed she was....and I peaked out to see her sitting on the third stair down, leafing through one of my baby mags. Non-chalant-like. Some things just send you into an adrenaline overdrive, and that's one of them.

Other than that she's still the most joyous little thing. We're havng so much fun.

<< Last Week - Next Week >>

This design adheres to xhtml 1.0 webstandards

Miss Any?
I'm PREGGERS!!! - July 17, 2006
Oh yea.... - May 11, 2006
Hey!! Guess what, we're still alive. - May 11, 2006
15 month appointment - January 19, 2005
15 months vocab - December 28, 2004

Some Advice?

Lilypie Baby Days