pregornot


Sickie Mc Sick Sick
December 02, 2003 - 7:25 a.m.

I guess I have a poll for all the Mommies out there - do you send your kids to daycare when they have colds? Stuffy noses and coughs? No fever?

Just wondering because I have an extreme attack of conscious for sending Marlee to daycare today, and yesterday for that matter. I am not sure if it is right to send her there to get others sick, even though she probably got sick there, and was contagious before anyone knew she was sick. Her cold has gotten worse. I am trying to gauge how she feels by how I

feel - which is awful. No fever. She's still in really good spirits though,

she just can't breathe or sleep very well. Last night my throat was so bad

and I started to get stuffed up - then nauseous from all the crap I was

swallowing. Yuck!! But I think she's doing ok, she's still eating good, that's all that really

matters. She's still coughing a lot...which is almost funny because every

time she does it, it's like she's surprised. She didn't sleep very well last

night - I guess by that I mean she didn't really fall asleep when we put her

to bed for over an hour or so and she got up at 2 for a half hour. That's

probably still normal but I am getting used to getting a full night's sleep.

Of course, Tim has a super-immune system and isn't suffering along with us!

So much for breastfed babies not getting sick, though, huh?

We had the vaporizer going, the Vicks on her onsie, saline drops in her nose and the whole shebang.

Tim thinks Marlee's about this_close to finding her feet, I guess last night

she was looking at them and laughing. She thinks it's hilarious when I pull up her feet to my mouth and pretend to eat them. Then I "share" them with her and stick them up near her mouth. She squeals and laughs like it's the funniest thing ever.

She is the funniest thing ever, and I miss her so much today. I keep remembering this one thing, Saturday night we were watching a movie and Marlee kept waking up so I (against my rules) picked her up and brought her downstairs with us. She was still kinda sleepy, but when she woke up and saw us, she looked at me and then Tim and suddenly smiled the biggest, happiest smile ever. Not like a "We're playing" smile, but a genuine "Hey, it's you guys! I like you!" smile. It was the best. She looked drunk, bleary eyes, gums showing, hair all fuzzy from bed. Ahhh, I keep that moment with me always!


Cough Hack Cough
December 01, 2003 - 7:49 p.m.

My baby is sick. It's so sad. Last night we put Marlee to sleep like usual and she fell out pretty quickly. I was doing some housework and was hit all of a sudden with this most horrendous sore throat - and just as suddenly, Marlee woke up raspy and stuffed up and miserable. We gave her some Tylenol and propped her up in her Boppy and she slept through the night despite her constant coughing. This morning she was a little fussier than usual, her voice was crackly. She was trying to be happy and play with her toys but whenever she "talked" to them I could tell she was in pain. I just hope her sore throat isn't as bad as mine.

Today when I picked her up from daycare, she was sleeping so soundly that she didn't even wake up when I took her. All the kids surrounded her and were touching her and saying goodbye. They all love her so much! It's really sweet. Then I got her home and was changing her diaper (major poop! On her own!) and she woke up, took one look at me and started SCREAMING. And she screamed for a half hour. She must really like daycare, or not like waking up in a different place than she fell asleep or something.

I squirted some saline up her nose and suctioned her out and she seems to be doing really well now.

Tomorrow we are getting family pictures done, and Marlee's 3 month pictures (even though she's not 3 months yet).


Ugh, Sick.
November 30, 2003 - 10:22 p.m.

Ugh. I am sick. Sore throat. Very very sick.

Marlee is in her crib right now struggling to sleep through a stuffy nose and a cute little baby-cough. 3 days at daycare and we're all sick already.


The Last Week Was A Big Blur
November 30, 2003 - 2:50 p.m.

Ok, now that Marlee is napping and I am somewhat caught up with housework...I can update how the last week has gone. First of all, Marlee is 10 weeks old now, had her first Thanksgiving this week and her first week at daycare.

The first day of daycare I walk her over to my neighbor's house, walk in and hand her over...and the kid starts smiling and cooing at Sheila (my neighbor) instantly. Not like I was expecting her to start shrieking or anything but it was no big deal for her. So, I go off to work and spend the next few hours wondering why I wasn't more upset about leaving her. I mean, I sure did miss her, but I could still function rather well and was getting along fine. I guess we both did a little better than I thought.

She sleeps well there, she never really napped that well for me so I was surprised. I guess it's the 22 years of experience she has. Marlee didn't eat very well though, she only went through 6 ounces a day all three days that she was there, when typically she would be eating 9-12 ounces in the timespan. But, she could just be getting used to it, or waiting for mom to get home. We'll see if this continues.

Pumping has been going really well. I actually managed to increase my supply instead of decreasing as I was concerned with - I froze about 40 unused ounces last week which is amazing. Supply took a dive since Thanksgiving, though, because Marlee has been consistantly sleeping through the night. Not just sleeping through the night, sleeping in like a lazy teenager. She goes down at 9pm and usually falls asleep by 10, then I have to wake her up at 6, or she'll wake to eat by 6:30am on the weekends, and then she goes back to sleep until 10am or so. I have no complaints in the sleeping department.

Marlee had her 2-month checkup last week and that meant shots. 4 of them, two in each leg. The appointment itself was ok, aside from waiting for 45 minutes. Marlee had used up her "happy baby" time and was crabby so I let her nap. The whole time the doc was checking her over she was sleeping...it was hilarious. Then they decided to do the shots - when she was sleeping! So I am up by her head, the nurse is holding her legs...and the first shot goes in, Marlee's eyes pop open and she does that horrendous silent cry where she's shaking and turning purple. It was awful. She calmed down afterward and the Tylenol kicked in - so she slept the whole way home and was in a super mood when she woke up. The next day at daycare she had a fever, so they gave her more Tylenol, so her whole sleeping schedule was off.

Also - I asked the doc again about the poop situation, because I read that breastfed infants can normally go from 7-10 days without a bm and that is normal - she doesn't necessarily agree and wants me to start putting mineral oil in her bottles to help things move a little better. How disgusting, I can't see this kid liking mineral oil in her bottles. I haven't yet tried it, but she is so gassy and sometimes has a hard time settling down because she has such gas pains so I might try it.

Well, I have to take advantage of this short nap time to get some present wrapping done and maybe work on some Christmas cards. I actually got two scrapbook pages done - both of Marlee's birth, they turned out awesome. I only had to stay up till 2am to finish them. Hmph.

<< Last Week - Next Week >>

This design adheres to xhtml 1.0 webstandards

Miss Any?
I'm PREGGERS!!! - July 17, 2006
Oh yea.... - May 11, 2006
Hey!! Guess what, we're still alive. - May 11, 2006
15 month appointment - January 19, 2005
15 months vocab - December 28, 2004

Some Advice?

Lilypie Baby Days