pregornot


Slept Through!
May 12, 2004 - 8:36 a.m.

She slept through the night! She slept through the night!

Not exactly true, but she slept from 12:30 to 6am! She went to sleep in her crib, but kept waking herself up by getting on her hands and knees (sometimes when a baby learns to crawl or stand up, they have sleep disturbances because of the new learned activity). I stood over her crib and watched her, in her SLEEP, roll over, get up on her hands and knees, crawl up to the front of her crib and wedge her head under the aquarium and then she woke up screaming. This happened a few times between 10 and 11. Around midnight, she was fussing and whining so Tim brought her to my bed, where she continued to fuss and whine. I refused to feed her, which I knew would put her to sleep. Instead I gave her a bottle of water. I finally got fed up with her thrashing around in my bed, so I took her to her crib, laid her down and covered her up and walked away. She moaned and cried for a while, and the next thing I knew, it was 5am. I crept into her room and discovered her laying FACE DOWN in the corner of her crib, still covered up (with her toes poking out). I could hear her breathing so I took a shower and went back to bed. When the alarm went off at 6am, she finally woke up. She was in such a good mood this morning too!

So yea. She slept through the night. It's been about 4 months. The only things I did differently last night, than I do every other night, is I didn't overfeed her at dinner and I didn't feed her once she went to bed. Because of my supply issues and her ferociious appetite, I would nurse her whenever she would wake up, and I would feed her probably way too many solids at dinner time to fill her up. Last night I have her a half serving of tofu and squash and she seemed to be so hungry afterwards - but she was less gassy and obviously slept better! I think the bottle of water was important though, as she was swallowing hard and probably had a really dry throat. I'll continue to try these few things.... and maybe instead of 6 hours of sleep, we'll get 10 out of her like we're supposed to!


But She's So Darn Cute
May 06, 2004 - 8:45 a.m.

The email newsletter in my inbox this morning tells me my baby is 33 weeks old. It goes on to say that she can now (as most babies do) sleep 12 hours at a time, through the night, without needing me. Your baby's sleep patterns are getting more predictable. By the eighth month, he'll sleep as much as 12 hours a night without needing to be fed. After one or two hours of deep sleep, he'll enter a stage of lighter sleep and may partially wake up before returning to sleep again. During these lighter phases, which happen four to six times a night, he may open his eyes and cry for you. Wait a few minutes to see if he drifts off again on his own. If not, go in and pat him gently to comfort him, but try not to turn on the light or take him out of the crib. Be calm and consistent (even if baby is anything but), and don't "reward" him with games, songs, or feeding. After a little while, tell him that it's time to go back to sleep, and leave the room. He may cry for a few minutes, but chances are he'll fall quickly asleep again. If your child's sleep pattern suddenly changes, Dr. Greene tells us there may be cause for concern.

We've got to do something about this - she wakes 4 times a night, on average. She eats and goes right back to sleep, or eats and then cries and then comes to bed with me. I'm so tired of it, and I am so tired of being tired. I have been sick now for over 5 weeks, and I think the majority of that is the lack of sleep I have been getting.

<< Last Week - Next Week >>

This design adheres to xhtml 1.0 webstandards

Miss Any?
I'm PREGGERS!!! - July 17, 2006
Oh yea.... - May 11, 2006
Hey!! Guess what, we're still alive. - May 11, 2006
15 month appointment - January 19, 2005
15 months vocab - December 28, 2004

Some Advice?

Lilypie Baby Days