pregornot


My Little Poker
April 25, 2003 - 1:59 p.m.

And now little Jr is kicking up a storm...it's crazy, you'd think this elation would wear off but I still drop everything when I feel that little poke...I think he likes hot buffalo sauce!

Tee hee!

I've been imagining him as so little for so long, it's hard to believe he's as big as my hand now...and someday he'll be taller than me!


Am I Really Going To Hate This?
April 25, 2003 - 12:55 p.m.

Nothing really new to bring me here.

I've been feeling super fatigued and a little nauseous this week so I have been layign low on the couch and trying to get my strength up. Baby has been relatively inactive but I do feel his sweet little punches here and there. More during the day now, though he used to sleep all during the day and dance the night away.

I ordered a spinach salad today, thinking the iron would do me greatly. I also ordered buffalo chicken strips...a little bit of bad to offset the good. I have sworn off the bearclaws and I'm feeling good about my weekly weigh-in this Saturday.

No, the nursery isn't finished yet, but I have gone to Target and picked up several baby safety items, more outlet covers, covers for outlets with plugs already in them, cord winders for the blinds, I just which they had cord winders for the lamp cords...those are what bother me now.

The cat certainly loves the baby's room. Loves the bassinet too, so we've been keeping it zipped shut.

More and more people have been telling me just how god-awful the first 8 weeks of parenthood are, and I just have mixed feelings on that. I have been around screaming newborns a lot actually, and while it is only for a few hours at a time, it never grates on my nerves. I can't remember in all my life in babysitting (and I swear I had children from hell) never once did their crying fits get to me. Only when they were in pain, and it's because I couldn't fix it.

Know what does bother me? Whining. Now I will take a baby crying for hours and hours over whining.

For all you mommies....is it really all that bad?? I mean, these are moms with kids 1+ years old...and they are telling me to prepare for suicidal tendancies.

Whatever. I keep telling Tim it's what you make of it. If the baby crying all night makes you want to slice your head off, that's because you let it. If you just sit back and realize that THAT'S WHAT BABIES DO, and this too shall pass, then you'll be fine.

Am I entirely delusional?

My plans for the weekend include: cleaning the kitchen, finishing the laundry, garage saling, weeding the flower gardens, attending the races, and stenciling the nursery, and, if I am still up to it, putting up the crib, which seems larger than life right now.

When it is finished, I will post the nusery pictures, sorry to disapoint you for not having it done already! I have plenty of in between pictures, but my web server is currently down so no one can see them!

Tomorrow: 19 WEEKS! Holy mother!


Ding Dong, Life is Good!
April 21, 2003 - 2:08 p.m.

This weekend was super busy. The nursery is almost completely set up. Friday and Saturday I painted the border around the middle of the room. It turned out really good. Saturday we assembled the night table and the shelf. We finished upolstering the glider ottoman. I cleaned out the closet, washed all the baby's clothes and blankets. All we really have left to do is set up the crib, make the curtains and dust ruffle, stencil the stars on the border, hide the electric cords (from the CD player and the lamps) and the major project will be the closet. Right now there are 4 home-made shelves in the closet, haphazardly hung and propped up with 2x4's. (The previous homeowners were complete idiots) So we need to rip out all the shelves, install a hanging bar, some closet organizers and shelves, maybe some drawers. Right now I have a huge rubbermaid container full of books and toys, and another full of clothes, shoes and blankets. Just not very practical!

All in all I've got the bug to get things done, done right and done right now.

I had my first experience with BH contractions this weekend, not very painful but really very strange. My stomach was so tight and it was almost hard to walk...of course when I lay down it stopped but being a busy-bee I had to finish painting. My weight took a jump this week, no doubt due to the 450 calorie bearclaws I have been eating. Easter dinner certainly didn't help either. I'd like to stay right around 116...that is 10 lbs and quite an average gain for this part of pregnancy. Not at all what I would have liked but I have really slacked off on diet, Despite what anyone says, I can see a difference in my chin/cheeks. Still not my butt, thank goodness, but soon enough. I alternate between sugary sweet cravings and salty-sour cravings. Not for anything specific, just something that fits those categories. Buttery popcorn, cheesy crackers, cream cheese and blueberry bearclaws, black raspberry ice cream....

Whew! It's almost lunch time!

So I called the nurse to get our quad-screen results back and they were TOTALLY NORMAL. YAY!

I'll post pictures of the nursery on my web site this week some time.

<< Last Week - Next Week >>

This design adheres to xhtml 1.0 webstandards

Miss Any?
I'm PREGGERS!!! - July 17, 2006
Oh yea.... - May 11, 2006
Hey!! Guess what, we're still alive. - May 11, 2006
15 month appointment - January 19, 2005
15 months vocab - December 28, 2004

Some Advice?

Lilypie Baby Days