pregornot


Showers and Sleepless Nights
June 20, 2003 - 2:47 p.m.

My work shower was last night! I got a lot of great stuff. The shower itself is a blur. By the time I got there, a lot of people were already there. I was starving to the point where I couldn't talk to anyone. The waitress brought me an order of fries in an instant - I was amazed at how fast. Things were decorated nicely and the cake had a giant moon on it. My boss, who was the co-host, was there for about 5 minutes before she insulted my friend, the other co-host, and then announced that she was leaving. She was not missed. I got some excellent things from the registry, the walker/entertainment center, the infant-to-toddler rocker/bouncer seat, tons of bibs, the Diaper Genie, lots of refills, some adorable clothes and some robe sets. I also got a beautiful handmade blanket! Very cool. We played a few games, ate some food and then headed out. I spent the whole rest of the night assembling the stuff and cutting tags off and washing all the outfits. I tried the diaper genie out...it's a little tedious but I am sure it will come in handy some time.

I really feel like the skin on my belly is about to split. It's so tight, almost like it's tight from the inside. I look at it every hour or so, expecting stretch marks to start crawling all the way up the bump. My belly button is hurting too. Yesterday was a horrible day comfort-wise. Baby Boo was WAY up into my ribs. I kept trying to breathe out and push her down but it would only last a few minutes before she popped back into place. When I got home last night I grabbed Tim's hand and told him to feel how far out my ribs were sticking. The second he put his hand on what we both thought was a rib - it kicked! Hard!

I had the worst time trying to sleep last night. First I was freezing cold and I had to get up, cross the hall and grab an afghan, then fight with the cat to get back in my position. Then, in what I assumed was the middle of the night, I had this horrible dream that I was dying of heartburn. I woke up, and sure enough, the worst case of heartburn one ever did have. I leaned over my nightstand to get the trusty bottle of Tums, but in my night time clumsiness knocked the bottle off the nightstand. I almost started crying. You see, it takes me almost 5 minutes to climb out of bed. Tim, the sweetheart that he is, offered to get up and get them for me. I just started mumbling and went back to sleep. I feel like there are holes burned into my throat today. My back started hurting sometime this morning and no position would make it better.

I have the whole food-backup issue today, but at least Boo Bear is staying out of my ribs. Whatever she is doing today is really strange. I feel like my tummy is having a muscle spasm whenever she moves or kicks.

Ah...only an hour to go before I can leave this hell hole and go back to bed.


Yea, Dammit. ZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
June 19, 2003 - 3:58 p.m.

I�ve actually felt pretty sexy the last couple of days. I got some new clothes from Old Navy. A couple of skirts and feminine shirts that hide the bad things and accentuate the good things � I still have good things, like nice legs and a small butt. (Gish, I remember my last pregnancy the only thing that did grow was my butt!!) I got tons of compliments � which is nice when you feel like the Goodyear Blimp. I also got this African Cocoa Butter stick from the grocery store � for like $0.30! I�ve been using it on the stretch marks. While they haven�t miraculously disappeared, they do look 10 times better. I feel better for doing something about them too.

I think the third trimester has hit me a week early. I have this heavy fatigue that I just can�t shake � it�s so like the first trimester. Every minute that I am not working, I am sleeping (and even sometimes when I am supposed to be working)!

My ribs constantly hurt too, so there is never a time when I am not crabby and miserable.

My shower is tonight. I am excited, and nervous. I am just not very good at being continually gracious! Plus I know some of the intentions of those who are attending are nothing of what they should be. I do hate to sound greedy, but I can�t wait to see what we bring home! I am also happy that my new diet doesn�t mean I don�t have to eat cake.

About this new diet. I picked it up from the doc office last night, expecting them to be taking things OUT of it. But in fact it gave me a list of foods that I need to ADD for the next week. All carbs and sugars, things I would need to avoid if I were indeed diagnosed with GD. I suppose they want to test how my body reacts to such foods. I also have to fast for 10 hours before the test, which is practically impossible. I will be so sick by the end of this!

I found out from talking to my mother, that my grandma had GD during her pregnancy so it�s more likely that I could have it too. Though only 15% of those who fail the screening end up with GD, so hopefully I am one of the 85% who don�t!

I told Tim about this whole sitch, and in passing he mentioned it to his brother. His brother is pretty familiar with the test, and knows that I still have to take another test before we are certain of anything. Well, he obviously said something to their mother, who then gets on MSN and IM�s me this: �So, I hear you have diabetes. That sucks.�

That comment, so nonchalant, set me off big time. For one thing, who SAID I have diabetes? And I know that if I do it isn�t the biggest thing in the world, but look at the history here. It�s been pretty crappy. This news is depressing, in the �letting the air out of the balloon� kind of way. So do you think THAT�S the way you should bring it up to me? The woman has had cancer�did anyone ever say to her (before she was even diagnosed for sure!) �Hey, you have cancer. That sucks.� NO. Because most of us have some tact. She sure knows what buttons to push with me.

I stepped on the scale last night and maybe I shouldn�t have. 129. I guess that�s still only 23 lbs, but it�s getting to the point where I wonder how the extra weight will affect my labor, and losing it afterwards. And I am already so uncomfortable, in only my 6th month, I don�t want to know what I will feel like 2 months from now.

Please get done cooking soon, Marlee, and come out. Mommy�s done with this experiment, and if you ever want a little brother or sister, you better make a nice entrance.


Glucose, and Puke
June 18, 2003 - 12:09 p.m.

I FAILED MY GLUCOSE TEST!

That's just the latest in the pregnancy saga. I was so worried about failing it and here I have gone and done it. I have to go in and get another test taken to see if it's gestational diabetes or just a fluke.

In better news, I had the single best OB appt yesterday. My regular doctor was sick, so I saw her partner, Dr. Ryan. He's totally awesome aside from having no grip on personal space. My exam went really well, I only measured 25 weeks though I am just over 26 now. He answered a lot of my questions about the reflux and heartburn and was concerned about the morning sickness sticking around.

This past weekend both were really bad and I ended up puking the whole way home from my mom's house. Once I was getting off the interstate and just couldn't hold it in anymore and so I rolled down the window and let loose. I don't know how my arm got in the way, probably because I was trying to lean away from the car, but my arm was covered in puke. This is why I now have an entire roll of paper towels in my car.

Then, later on a side road, the urge came again. This time I doused the side of my newly washed car. The next time I was wiser - stopped the car and opened the door, forgetting the big old belly and the seat belt. Got the door and the side of the car, inside.

Well I have had enough of updating today, there's much more to say but it will have to wait!

<< Last Week - Next Week >>

This design adheres to xhtml 1.0 webstandards

Miss Any?
I'm PREGGERS!!! - July 17, 2006
Oh yea.... - May 11, 2006
Hey!! Guess what, we're still alive. - May 11, 2006
15 month appointment - January 19, 2005
15 months vocab - December 28, 2004

Some Advice?

Lilypie Baby Days