pregornot


What's Going ON
May 02, 2003 - 1:37 p.m.

I'm crampy. And I don't like it.

I think it might be a UTI, I hope it's nothing but this pain seems to be getting worse. No more contractions, just achy, crampiness. Right under my belly button and down the the yoo-hoo area...

I have so much work to do.

Oh, and the baby likes Metallica. All this time I have been trying to get him to like DMB and softer, introspective stuff...no, he like Metallica and Audioslave.

He is his father's son. Or daughter??


Uh Oh Worried Oh
May 02, 2003 - 12:22 p.m.

This morning when I was getting in the shower I had what I call a muscle contraction in my lower belly. It wasn't like a ligament cramp, more like the BH's I thought I remembered feeling before. This time it WAS painful and I laid down on the shower floor to try to get it to go away. Eventually it did, but my muscles stayed sore after that. After my shower I went back to bed and laid down for about and hour. I felt a band of pressure across my lower back and then another intense contractiony feeling in the front. It did go away when I changed positions....the only thing I am worried about it when I got the book out, it said if you are feeling any pain or pressure in your back, or you are at risk for preterm labor, to call the doc. Well I am all three of those, but I don't want to over-react.

So I called my doc (actually my very favorite nurse). She asked me a million questions about it, determined it was most definitely a Braxton Hicks contraction. She said it's a little early for those but since I can still feel the baby move and I've been fine since, everything is ok. She wants me to monitor my discharge and baby movement, stay off my feet and not have intercourse this weekend, along with keeping up on my fluids. She says the causes for these type of contractions are:

Intercourse

Dehydration

Standing too long on your feet

Bladder infections

And they are only worrysome when you have them consecutively, or 4 in an hour. She was a little worried since I still have the SCH bleed that the blood could be irritating the uterus, but we'll just have to wait and see.

I'm still feeling a little weird in that area, just below my belly button it hurts a little. A lot a little. I'm trying to not freak out, since I feel little Boo move ever so occasionally. It's just that I am going out of town tomorrow and i don't want ANYTHING to happen. Tim is scared about this, he hates that he has to be scared for the sake of this pregnancy.

Me. Too.


Uh Oh Worried Oh
May 02, 2003 - 12:22 p.m.

This morning when I was getting in the shower I had what I call a muscle contraction in my lower belly. It wasn't like a ligament cramp, more like the BH's I thought I remembered feeling before. This time it WAS painful and I laid down on the shower floor to try to get it to go away. Eventually it did, but my muscles stayed sore after that. After my shower I went back to bed and laid down for about and hour. I felt a band of pressure across my lower back and then another intense contractiony feeling in the front. It did go away when I changed positions....the only thing I am worried about it when I got the book out, it said if you are feeling any pain or pressure in your back, or you are at risk for preterm labor, to call the doc. Well I am all three of those, but I don't want to over-react.

So I called my doc (actually my very favorite nurse). She asked me a million questions about it, determined it was most definitely a Braxton Hicks contraction. She said it's a little early for those but since I can still feel the baby move and I've been fine since, everything is ok. She wants me to monitor my discharge and baby movement, stay off my feet and not have intercourse this weekend, along with keeping up on my fluids. She says the causes for these type of contractions are:

Intercourse

Dehydration

Standing too long on your feet

Bladder infections

And they are only worrysome when you have them consecutively, or 4 in an hour. She was a little worried since I still have the SCH bleed that the blood could be irritating the uterus, but we'll just have to wait and see.

I'm still feeling a little weird in that area, just below my belly button it hurts a little. A lot a little. I'm trying to not freak out, since I feel little Boo move ever so occasionally. It's just that I am going out of town tomorrow and i don't want ANYTHING to happen. Tim is scared about this, he hates that he has to be scared for the sake of this pregnancy.

Me. Too.


Long Story - I'm Short
May 01, 2003 - 10:19 a.m.

I'm having an emotional day. I'm just going to bitch about everything that is wrong since I haven't in a while. I'm getting sick of my husband never understanding that being tired doesn't equal being crabby. He claims I am always in a bad mood. It's not true and I think the same of him. My hormones must be going out of control. I'm so sad and disappointed right now, and I know things aren't going to get better any time soon. He feels like I am having too hard a time with this pregnancy and doesn't understand it, he thinks I can't handle it. He EXPECTS me to be in a bad mood, to be crabby. The truth is, 90% of the time I am so happy, so perfectly happy....and it's just little things that I snap over. And once it happens I am done with it and on to the next thing. Enough about that. I miss my stamina, I have no energy. I am so sick of sleeping all the damn time and never feeling like I've gotten enough. I haven't been able to breathe in weeks, not a pregnancy thing but a stress thing...it still bothers me and tires me out even faster. I'm really sick of feeling sick. It's taken on a new form, morning sickness paired with terrible heartburn. It's constantly at the back of my throat.

I'm a person who's typically secure with myself, but nowadays I can't help trying on 50 million clothes and crying in front of the mirror. I love my belly and I'm proud to show it off, but I still get girly and hormonal over getting dressed in the morning. I'm getting to the point where I am hot all the time, rolling over is such a pain....

What I am not sick of is feeling this little peanut move all the time. It just makes me giggle and smile...I'm so in love already. I'm glad I know what he looks like, I can envision it so much better when I feel him moving around!


Maternity Leave and Daycare
April 30, 2003 - 3:49 p.m.

I got my maternity leave all figured out at work today. I have 6 weeks of short-term disability. Because of an elimination period, I'll have to use one week of vacation pay and then STD will pay 60% of my salary for the remaining 5 weeks. Then I have 3 weeks of paid vacation left. All in all I only get 9 weeks paid leave. Since I can't start back to work until December 1st because of daycare, whatever comes between the 9 weeks and December will have to be unpaid. Not something I am looking forward to, but for one or two weeks it will be fine.

Starting in December, I will only work 3 days a week until the week of Christmas and New Year's, and I will return to work 5 days a week starting January 5th. Then my hours will be 7:30am to 2:30pm on Mondays and 7:30am to 3:00pm Tuesday-Friday.

Speaking of daycare, I just recently sent in the tuition and deposit (non-refundable) and I haven't heard back from them. They have cashed the check, though, so I must assume we have daycare! I will call in a few months to be totally sure. I'd like to go with the baby for a few days before starting just to get used to the room and the care.

Nothing much else!


Delivery? Me?
April 39, 2003 - 9:34 a.m.

Someone was doing a lot of acrobatics all day and night...it was really sweet. I thought for sure he'd get tired and quit, especially after such a quiet weekend. I think he must have gone through a major growth spurt this weekend and needed all the rest he could get. At 17 weeks he was just a hand spread out, but now he's actually 9 oz, the size of a nerf football. Everything I am feeling now is so much more pronounced. What I have been thinking were kicks and punches turned into kicks and punches, flops and rolls. And I can tell every time he uses my bladder as a trampoline. The little guy is sleeping now, I haven't felt him since a ligament pain woke me up at 5am.

Going through the laundry and my closet this morning, I am FINALLY satisfied with my wardrobe of maternity outfits, and even excited with the new clothes. I'm fitting into everything except the later stage stuff.

I can't believe in just 4 short months....and a week God willing......I'll be bringing a baby home. Pregnancy has been such a project for me for over year now, and I finally get to think about the outcome.

I started freaking out watching Maternity Ward last night - I've been toiling back and forth between totally epidural and totally natural and last night's show made me think epidural. I wanted to be the one who was in control of my body and knew what was going on, but I just don't have the patience or stamina for an unmedicated birth. I realize I have to trust my doctors and my hospital. I just know I REALLY don't want a vacuum or forceps delivery.

Delivery! AH!

AHHHHH!!!


This weekend
April 28, 2003 - 1:46 p.m.

19 weeks! This was a fabulous weekend. I started out by weighing in at exactly what I wanted to: 116lbs. That's an even 10 lbs, which I would like to hold steady for two weeks. My appetite seems to have leveled off and I am back to eating healthy (aside from my buffalo wings and butterfinger cravings!).

I started stenciling the baby's room on Friday night and got one entire wall done in an hour. I quite for the weekend but will probably finish up tonight before Maternity Ward. I really want to get the crib up. All I have left to do is finish stenciling, put up crib, make the curtains and crib ruffle. Then we need to take the shelves out of closet, put a hanging bar in and either shelves or closet organizers. I'm pretty set on baby proofing that room at least, all the blinds have those cheap plastic wind-ups for the cords and the outlets have covers. For the outlets with plugs in them, Parents has this cool snap-over and lock cover that I just love. I need to pick up one more of those from Target tonight.

Baby Boo is finally back to kicking up a storm after taking the entire weekend off. Last time I felt him was Friday afternoon, then nothing until today. Even when I listened to him with the doppler he wasn't moving. Just sleeping I guess. I was getting worried though! But the weekend of rest was worth it, since I am feeling him more today than ever!

I had to take a pukey-pill today, my first case of morning sickness in a few weeks. I also woke up in the middle of a painful BH contraction! I had hoped I was mistaken when I thought I felt them before. No chance...my lower abs were hard as a rock. I thought maybe it was just gas pains but at the same time I knew it wasn't....this os only a 10th of what labor will be like!

<< Last Week - Next Week >>

This design adheres to xhtml 1.0 webstandards

Miss Any?
I'm PREGGERS!!! - July 17, 2006
Oh yea.... - May 11, 2006
Hey!! Guess what, we're still alive. - May 11, 2006
15 month appointment - January 19, 2005
15 months vocab - December 28, 2004

Some Advice?

Lilypie Baby Days